Home of the Smurf Community

Slightly more serious topics for smurf collectors including promo smurfs, smurfy discoveries, unlicensed smurfs, playsets, smurfy items etc
Page 1 of 1
Postby DrunkSmurf » Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:23 pm
Wow! In my first post, I disparaged Garg's castle and other expensive smurf buildings. Opened my windmill a couple of days early, though, and wow--that's a real toy. I have an engineering degree and was amazed by the mechanical efficiency of it--! :shock: The windmill, with it's neon yellow exterior, looks junky in the pictures (especially compared to the first release), but up close--it looks fantastic. It exerts a "presence" unlike the rather unassuming large mushroom house (which I grew up with).

Questions:
1) Can anyone cite ideas for the windmill powering other smurf gadgets (improvised or officially Schleich)? Not merely aesthetic, the windmill actually does something! I'm guessing it is supposed to work in conjunction with the conveyor belt playset, but I doubt I'll find that anytime soon. :???:

2) Was the windmill originally designed to have a base? It has a lot of grooves and notches in the base that serve no function.

Postby Syd Smurf » Thu Dec 23, 2004 1:58 am
Hi Tim

There is a motorised Windmill version out there but it is a lot rarer and also more expensive. It uses electricity to power the windmill and it sits on a large green base with a track that little smurfs can walk up to get to the windmill....I think it looks really cool and I came so close to bidding quite high on one last year but pulled out after having second thoughts......stupid Dyar. I will be very keen to find another one on ebay someday.

If anyone has a pic can they post it here please

Dyar

Postby Rachel » Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:46 am
I don't have one myself but here is a picture of the motorized windmill.

I am not 100% sure but I think they were available to shops for display purposes. :-?

Why is it called "common sense" when it is so rare.......